As with all populations, Tasmania’s first peoples identified that different timbers have characteristics that better suit them for different purposes. Tasmanian special timbers were used for shelters, hunting tools, clapping sticks, baskets, watercraft and a myriad of other uses over millennia.
Following this tradition of inquiry, the unique and special nature of some of Tasmania’s timbers were later identified by French naval officer, Captain Huon de Kermandec when his expedition discovered beached Huon Pine logs in 1792. British settlement in 1804, soon led to the practical use of local timbers and in particular Huon Pine logs salvaged from the shoreline in the D’Entrecasteaux Channel and Huon River.
It was observed that although many of these drift logs had been dead for a long time, their timber remained sound. Exploiting this timbers ease of working, was the basis of boat building, building internal fit-outs and for the production of furniture and a wide range of household items necessary to support settlement.